top of page
Writer's pictureviridian club

BABBLERS- THE NEW NOISY VISITORS IN THE LOCKDOWN by Aishani Purohit VI-D

“ Birds teach a great life lesson. All you have to do is listen to their song.”

- Anonymous


The house sparrows are long gone, the growing human population and new microwave towers have made them disappear. Now, I only hear them in stories and songs like, ‘ Ek chidiya’.


But, recently new visitors who have been coming to my garden have become my constant companions. I call them, “Bubbly babblers”.


In these tough and testing times, they come as a ray of hope and relief as they have replaced my neighbors and relatives and become regular visitors to my garden.These vivacious, noisy, avian species always grab my attention while I am sitting near my bedroom window or when I am strolling in my garden.


Also known as the ‘ Seven Sisters’, they are gregarious birds, always found in groups, never alone or lonely. They live in a complete joint family system and believe in the division of labor. As one pair of babblers breed, the rest of the family members assist each other in procuring food and nurturing little ones. These bubbly babblers are sweet and chirpy, but each and every one of them is vigilant and alert for their family. I believe that they are more like security guards or policemen on an endless duty, protecting each other from various predators.

They eagerly wait to be fed with bread crumbs. But the moment I get a bit closer to them, they believe in maintaining a safe distance.


While recently watching a video on our honorable Prime Minister feeding the peacocks, I got motivated to develop a new bond of friendship with these sociable beings. These birds are a great source of inspiration for me, whether it comes to working in unity, working diligently, or being vigilant for the protection of their loved ones.

These birds are not babbling babblers but a team that is at work constantly.


These babblers are a true epitome of persistence and perseverance and we humans have a lot to learn from them, like,

  1. Division and dignity of labor

  2. Being compassionate.

  3. Having a protective behavior towards family, friends, and society.

  4. Being hardworking.

  5. Being happy.


“ Become like a bird, expand your wings, learn new things and fly as high as you can”

- Anonymous


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page